Dr. Tess Lawrie – What I Do To Stay Healthy

DR TESS LAWRIE, MBBCH, PHD​ DEC 28, 2023

Following the seasonal gatherings, are you worried you might come down with something?

If you or the people around you are getting ill, sunshine is scarce, and you are wondering how to protect yourself from infections and shedding, perhaps you are interested in what I do to avoid illness and stay healthy.

There are many health gurus who will suggest different strategies that may well be better than mine. However, this routine keeps me very well, which is why I am sharing it. Please feel free to take it, leave it or adapt it as you see fit. 🙂

My Daily Supplements

I take the following food supplements daily* (*more or less)

  • N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) 600 mg
  • ·Vitamin C 1000 mg
  • Zinc 15 mg
  • Vitamin D3 10,000 IU plus K2
  • Black seed oil (it’s delicious in tea, and on fruit salad, and veg)
  • Magnesium capsule x 1
  • Moringa capsule x 1
  • 2 or more cups of dandelion tea and/or pine needle tea
  • Salt inhaler with a drop of iodine to protect airways

I choose supplements in the form of drops and powders rather than bulky capsules wherever possible. The teas and oils I find fairly easy to integrate into my diet and lifestyle without too much trouble. Now and then I add the following from my kitchen cupboard: Omega fatty acids, curcumin, shilajit, melatonin, methylene blue in water (3 drops of 1% solution), Lugol’s Iodine in water (6 drops of 3% solution).

(Note: please do your own research to source these supplements.)

My Daily Practices

  • Intermittent fasting (I eat 2 meals between 1pm and 8pm each day)
  • My first meal is fruit and nuts
  • I drink filtered water (not from plastic bottles)
  • I eat a local farm-fresh plant-based, whole-food diet (low carbs, no long-life or processed food, no refined sugar)
  • I eat fermented foods (mainly kimchi and sauerkraut)
  • I use ethernet cables to connect to the internet instead of wifi and I keep my mobile phone turned off 23/7, to reduce exposure to RFR (radio-frequency radiation)
  • I spend at least 10 minutes barefoot in nature
  • I spend at least 10 minutes in intentional exercise (stretching, yoga, walking)
  • I spend at least 10 minutes in meditation (clearing the mind, not thinking or doing)

Before the Covid crisis, I played squash and racketball 4 to 5 times per week and absolutely loved it! Now, with my busy schedule, I manage at least one full aerobic or yoga session a week, which keeps me sane. My New Year’s resolution includes increasing ‘me’ time to be able to do these and other healthy practices more frequently!

Published by Douglas Lloyd Peck praisebells@yahoo.com

My Wordpress Blog: https://liveyosemite.wordpress.com

Leave a comment