We Signed On Together

The onshore breeze that freshens Los Angeles is usually from the west. We sail to the “Holly” oil platform and then turn the boat into the wind and gently glide to a stop. The powerful sail goes slack and flaps impotently. We turn around and look at our adopted home town from a new perspective.

I have gazed upon scenes like this from the cockpits of airplanes and sailboats. From the air it is always a thrill, but you are never really at ease; the wind beneath your wings is unforgiving of inattention to the task. These days I’m coming to prefer the sea.

Strolling through the marina I spotted a boat after my own heart. It was adorned with a wooden image of a mermaid fastened lovingly to the bow with eight-inch bolts through her navel and open mouth. Come what may, this golden-haired mermaid wouldn’t be getting away.

Bike ride with Raili at her father’s house in Kuopio, Finland, 1987


“I am a sailor, you’re my first mate

We signed on together, we coupled our fate,

Hauled up our anchor, determined not to fail,

For the heart’s treasure, together we set sail…”

Christy Moore, “The Voyage”:
https://youtu.be/x3RPQi8rDAI

Published by Douglas Lloyd Peck praisebells@yahoo.com

My Wordpress Blog: https://liveyosemite.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “We Signed On Together

Leave a comment